Traditions (CRR#1)

“The Lottery” isn’t a lottery I would like to win, but it got me thinking. Shirley Jackson (the author) was trying to send us a message about being careful WHY we do the things we do. Hmmmm. Why do I make my bed in the morning, if my dog is going to jump up there during the day and mess it up? This is something I need to reconsider, thank you Shirley Jackson!

You may not know how I feel about Christmas traditions, but I love them. The more traditions, the better! I like my house to look like Christmas threw up all over it! However, after reading “The Lottery,” it made me think about how weird some of these traditions are. For example, Christmas lights on the outside of our house? WHY do we do that??

Now, I want you to think about traditions you do (or traditions you researched) and write a blog post about them! You can choose to do one of the following:

  • Top 5 traditions I would get rid of and why

OR

  • Top 5 traditions I want to pass on to my family/friends and why

Also, do this:

  •  focus on tone and mood in your writing. SHOW your tone and how you feel about traditions with your descriptive language.
  • Use these 5 vocabulary words (from “The Lottery”)in your post:
        1. Paraphernalia
        2. Boisterous
        3. Jovial
        4. Profusley
        5. Defiant

 

Your blog post must have the following to get full credit:

  • at least 250 words
  • a creative title AND the blog post code: CRR #1
  • at least one image, meme, or gif

Okay, students! Get to writing about traditions!

About ktisinger

Language Arts Teacher, Whidbey Island, Washington

Posted on January 28, 2019, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

World According to Talbot

Welcome to 8th grade blogs!

World According to Brockett

A great WordPress.com site

World According to Tisinger

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees